SOCIAL STUDIES RESOURCES


Tutorials/Games

Disaster Watch: http://www.globalgang.org/funandgames/games/disastergame/index.html
Third World Farmer Game: http://www.3rdworldfarmer.com/
U.S. Presidents Quiz: http://www.sporcle.com/games/presidents.php
U.S. State Tetris: http://www.mapmsg.com/games/statetris/usa/

Resources

CIA World Factbook: https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/
Center for History and New Media: http://chnm.gmu.edu/
Cybershoolbus: United Nations: http://www.cyberschoolbus.un.org/
Internet History Sourcebooks Project: http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/
Special Projects: Understanding World Events: http://www.esrnational.org/otc/
Thomas Legislative Information: http://thomas.loc.gov
US House of Represenatives: http://www.house.gov
US Senate: http://www.senate.gov
Congressional Record: http://www.gpoaccess.gov/crecord/index.html
USA.gov History, Arts, & Culture Resources: http://www.usa.gov/Citizen/Topics/History.shtml
Commission on Presidential Debates: http://www.debates.org/

Primary Source

The Library of Congress: http://memory.loc.gov/learn/
The National Archives: http://www.archives.gov/
The National Archives Educators & Students: http://www.archives.gov/education/
The National Archives Research Tools: http://www.archives.gov/research/tools/index.html
The National Archives Document Analysis Worksheets: http://www.archives.gov/education/lessons/worksheets/
White House audio tapes from the Miller Center: http://www.millercenter.virginia.edu/academic/presidentialrecordings/
Smithsonian Institution Civil War site: http://civilwar.si.edu/
The Virginia Center for Digital History: http://www.vcdh.virginia.edu/index.php?page=VCDH
Documenting the American South: http://docsouth.unc.edu/
University of Houston Digital History site: http://www.digitalhistory.uh.edu/

Historical Map Sites

David Rumsey Map Collection: http://www.davidrumsey.com/
American Memory Project: http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html
Remembering Pearl Harbor Attack Map: http://plasma.nationalgeographic.com/pearlharbor/
Eastern Theater of the Civil War: http://valley.vcdh.virginia.edu/cwmaps1.html
Geography & Map Reading Room: http://www.loc.gov/rr/geogmap/
The Newberry Library Historic Maps in K-12 Classrooms: http://www3.newberry.org/k12maps/module_index/
Ancient World Mapping Center: http://www.unc.edu/awmc/
Central Pacific Railroad Maps: http://cprr.org/Museum/Maps/index.html
Osher Map Library: http://www.usm.maine.edu/maps/
U.S. Animated Historical Map: http://www.animatedatlas.com/movie.html

Graphic Organizers

Useful graphic organizers: http://college.hmco.com/education/duplass/socstudies/1e/students/graphic.html

Photography

Geobloggers: http://www.geobloggers.com/archives/
The New 7 Wonders (Panoramic Images): http://www.panoramas.dk/7-wonders/

Project Specific

Family Tree Generator Geni: http://www.geni.com/tree/start
Family Tree Generator Kincafe: http://www.kincafe.com
Building a School Archives: http://www.archives.gov/about/history/building-an-archives/school-archives.html
Exploring Google Earth Beyond the WOW Factor (BLC 2007 Presentation): http://shareski.wikispaces.com/ge

Misc.

Edheads: http://www.edheads.org/index.htm
iKnowthat.com: http://www.iknowthat.com/com