LIBRARY/MEDIA CENTER RESOURCES


General Resources

Springfield Township HS Virtual Library: http://www.sdst.org/shs/library/
Citation Machine: http://citationmachine.net/
BibMe: http://www.bibme.org/
The Internet Public Library: http://www.ipl.org/
Google’s Librarian Central Tools Page: http://www.google.com/librariancenter/librarian_tools.html
Google’s Librarian Central Blog: http://www.librariancentral.blogspot.com/
America's Library: http://www.americaslibrary.gov/cgi-bin/page.cgi
Time for Kids: http://www.timeforkids.com/TFK/
USA.gov Reference Center: http://www.usa.gov/Topics/Reference_Shelf.shtml
Power Media Plus: http://powermediaplus.com/
The Blended Librarian: http://blendedlibrarian.org/
Smithsonian Education: http://www.smithsonianeducation.org/educators/

Web 2.0/School 2.0 Search

Go2Web2.0: http://www.go2web20.net/
Web 2.0 for the Classroom Teacher: http://www.kn.att.com/wired/fil/pages/listweb20s.html
KartOO: http://www.kartoo.com/
Quintura for Kids: http://kids.quintura.com/
Visuwords online graphical dictionary: http://www.visuwords.com/
TouchGraph data visualization: http://www.touchgraph.com/index.html
NoodleQuest: http://www.noodletools.com/noodlequest/
Way Back Machine Internet Archive: http://www.archive.org/index.php

Search Engines

American Association of School Librarians: Evaluating Web Sites
American Library Association: Evaluating Web Sites (.pdf)
Google: http://www.google.com/
All The Web: http://www.alltheweb.com/
Dogpile: http://www.dogpile.com/info.dogpl/
Map Quest: http://www.mapquest.com/
Ask.com: http://www.ask.com/
Vivisimo: http://vivisimo.com/
Wise Nut: http://www.wisenut.com/
Yahoo!: http://www.yahoo.com/
Yahoo! Kids (Formerly Yahooligans): http://kids.yahoo.com/

Audiobooks

Project Gutenberg: http://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Main_Page
Assistive Media: http://www.assistivemedia.org/
Recorded Books.com: http://www.recordedbooks.com/
Audio Books For Free: http://www.audiobooksforfree.com/screen_main.asp
Recordings for the Blind and Dyslexic: http://www.rfbd.org/
Free Books: http://www.free-books.org/

Courseware Repositiories

MERLOT: http://www.merlot.org/merlot/index.htm
Curriki: http://www.curriki.org/xwiki/bin/view/Main/WebHome
PBS Teachers: http://www.pbs.org/teachers/
Connexions: http://cnx.org/
Marco Polo Education: http://marcopolo-education.org/home.aspx
Education World: http://www.education-world.com/
Scholastic (Link has been in error!): http://www2.scholastic.com/browse/home.jsp
Federal Resources for Educational Excellence: http://www.free.ed.gov/index.cfm
McREL Lesson Plans: http://www.mcrel.org/lesson-plans/
USA Today Education: http://www.usatoday.com/educate/home.htm
ThinkQuest Library: http://www.thinkquest.org/library/index.html
AT&T Education: http://www.kn.pacbell.com/wired/bluewebn/

Primary Source

The Library of Congress: http://memory.loc.gov/learn/
The National Archives: http://www.archives.gov/
The National Archives Educators & Students: http://www.archives.gov/education/
The National Archives Research Tools: http://www.archives.gov/research/tools/index.html
The National Archives Document Analysis Worksheets: http://www.archives.gov/education/lessons/worksheets/
White House audio tapes from the Miller Center: http://www.millercenter.virginia.edu/academic/presidentialrecordings/
Smithsonian Institution Civil War site: http://civilwar.si.edu/
The Virginia Center for Digital History: http://www.vcdh.virginia.edu/index.php?page=VCDH
Documenting the American South: http://docsouth.unc.edu/
University of Houston Digital History site: http://www.digitalhistory.uh.edu/

Graphic Organizers

Useful graphic organizers: http://college.hmco.com/education/duplass/socstudies/1e/students/graphic.html