EARLY CHILDHOOD RESOURCES Pre K - 6


Open Source (FREE) Software

Childsplay (Mac, Win, or Linux): http://childsplay.sourceforge.net/
BlockCAD: http://web.telia.com/~u16122508/proglego.htm

Reading Resources

Elementary and Beginning Reading Resources: http://www.schools.manatee.k12.fl.us/ITsisemore/reading/elemindex.html
Starfall “Learn to Read Section”

Art

Kerpoof: http://www.kerpoof.com/

Kid Sites

Make a Flake: http://snowflakes.barkleyus.com/
Backyard Jungle: http://pbskids.org/backyardjungle/
CBC Kids: http://www.cbc.ca/kids/
SparkTop: http://www.sparktop.org/intro.html
Whyville: http://www.whyville.net/smmk/nice
Funschool: http://funschool.kaboose.com/
KidsHealth: http://www.kidshealth.org/kid/
MaMaMedia: http://www.mamamedia.com/
Neopets: http://www.neopets.com/
Noggin: http://www.noggin.com/
OLogy (American Museum of Natural History): http://ology.amnh.org/
PBS Kids: http://pbskids.org/
PBS Kids Boohbah: http://pbskids.org/boohbah/boohbah.html
Plimoth for Kids: http://www.plimoth.org/kids/
Scholastic ISpy: http://www.scholastic.com/ISpy/
Sesame Workshop: http://www.sesameworkshop.org/
TIME for Kids: http://www.timeforkids.com/TFK/
The Yuckiest Site on the Internet: http://yucky.discovery.com/flash/
Zeeks: http://www.zeeks.com/
Zoopz: http://www.zoopz.com/index.html
A Story for Bedtime (stories in mp3): http://www.astoryforbedtime.com/
National Gallery of Art NGAkids Art Zone: http://www.nga.gov/kids/zone/
Kids Space: http://www.kids-space.org/
WhackyWindows: http://www.wackywindows.com/
Lil' Fingers Storybooks: http://www.little-g.com/games/games1.html
Game Goo: http://www.cogcon.com/gamegoo/gooeyhome.html
The Magic Key: http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/magickey/index.shtml
Little Fingers Games: http://www.little-g.com/games/games1.html
I Know That: http://www.iknowthat.com

Computer Lab Activities & Interactive Resources

K-5 Computer Lab Activities: http://faculty.usiouxfalls.edu/arpeterson/computer_lab.htm
Interactive Resources: http://www.globalclassroom.org/ecell00/javamath.html
K-5 Technology Activities: http://www.wcs.k12.va.us/users/honaker/K-2.html
Interactive Websites: http://jc-schools.net/tutorials/interactive.htm
Education World Learning Games Archive: http://www.education-world.com/a_lesson/archives/learninggame.shtml

Math

Cool Math 4 Kids: http://www.coolmath4kids.com/
K-5 Computer Lab Activities: http://faculty.usiouxfalls.edu/arpeterson/computer_lab.htm
Interactive Resources: http://www.globalclassroom.org/ecell00/javamath.html

Language Arts

Kid's Place Houghton Mifflin English K-5: http://www.eduplace.com/kids/hme/k_5/
TRIP 1 Language Arts: http://www.trip1.org/langarts.htm
SD Dept. of Ed Language Arts Games and Activities Links: http://doe.sd.gov/octa/ddn4learning/themeunits/Primary/online.htm
Reading & Language Arts Links by Grade Level: http://www.wanaque.k12.nj.us/wanaque/Web%20Resources/_top
Grammar Bytes: http://www.chompchomp.com/menu.htm
Grammar Gorillas: http://www.funbrain.com/grammar/

Similarities and Differences

Humphrey Bear’s “Magic Forest Clock” and “What Doesn’t Belong”
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences “What’s Wrong With These Pictures”

Homework and Practice

BBC Little Animals Activity Centre
Get Ready to Read
Starfall “Learn to Read Section”

Nonlinguistic Represenation

National Geographic WildCam AFRICA (Seasonal)
PBS Kids Africa

Generating and Testing Hypotheses

PBS Parents Creativity Challenge
National Library of Virtual Manipulatives

Keyboarding

http://freetypinggame.net/
http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/typing/
http://www.e-learningforkids.org/Courses/Keyboarding_Skills/index.html
http://www.sense-lang.org/typing/

Teacher Resources

Kathy Cassidy (Year 1 Teacher): http://classblogmeister.com/blog.php?blogger_id=1337
Kinder Korner: http://www.kinderkorner.com/
Federal Resources for Educational Excellence: http://www.free.ed.gov/
Student Progress Monitoring: http://www.studentprogress.org/
K8 Access Center: http://www.k8accesscenter.org/index.php
Internet Resources for Teachers: http://www.ed.gov/teachers/nclbguide/toolkit_pg25.html